Golden Trail Series

Golden Trail Series

Series “Golden Trail World Series” exists to promote and develop trail running as a sport. The main principles it adheres to are parity, fairness, transparency and honesty. One of the objectives of the series is to promote professional trailrunners as world-class athletes, to showcase and protect the natural environment where the competitions are held.

"Golden Trail World Series" includes 6 qualifying races:

The final race: K42 Adventure Marathon

Each of the six races in the series was not chosen by chance. The route of the mountain races is distinguished by incredible views, has its own complexity, history and atmosphere, which the organisers offer to experience for everyone: both runners and spectators. In these mountain competitions anyone who can't imagine their life without this sport wants to take part.

"Golden Trail World Series" brought together the iconic mountain race into a revolutionary new concept. A clear and simple format that takes into account the three best results of each runner in six races. This generates excitement for the public who follow the entire season and ensures that the elite trail runners meet each other a maximum of once during the year, guaranteeing a high level of competition at every race.

"Golden Trail World Series" is not just about running series - is a celebration of trail running, athletes and fans. Every celebration requires a party - a finale that embodies everything trail running is all about. Every year, the "Golden Trail World Series" chooses a special race for the Grand Final. The 11 best men and women from the overall ranking will be invited to the Grand Final. This guarantees an epic battle to the last finish.

After each competition, the top 30 participants in the overall standings receive points: 1st place - 100 points, 30th place - 2 points. At the end of the last mountain race of the series, the TOP-11 men and 11 women are determined, who will be invited to participate in the Grand Final. If a runner is not in the top 11, but has participated in 3 of the 6 qualifying races, he/she can take part in the final in Argentina on their own.

The points for the final race will differ from the points for the 6 qualifying races. In the final, runners will receive double points, namely 1st place - 200 points, 30th place - 4 points. The overall ranking will take into account the runner's 3 best results + the result of the final race.

National series "Golden Trail National Series"

After a successful 2018 for the "Golden Trail World Series", national series ("Golden Trail National Series") began to appear in some countries next year: France-Belgium, Spain-Portugal, Italy, Czech Republic-Slovakia-Poland, Croatia, Germany-Austria-Switzerland, Great Britain, USA-Canada, Mexico, Denmark-Sweden-Norway-Finland, Slovenia.

While the "Golden Trail World Series" aims to bring together the best international athletes, national series bring together all the best athletes from a particular country to compete for the right to participate in the “Golden Trail Championship”. The goal of the national series is to give any strong athlete the opportunity to take part in the most prestigious international trail running championship and compete with the best athletes in the world.

Each national series consists of 2 to 5 best trail races of the country + national final and overall final “Golden Trail National Series”which will bring together the best from each "Golden Trail National Series". The three best male and female athletes from each national series after the final in their country will receive “Golden Pass”the invitation to the "Golden Trail Championship" was given.

Golden Trail Championship

If the "Golden Trail World Series" gathers elite athletes to participate in 6 major competitions to culminate in one Grand Final, the "Golden Trail Championship" aims to bring them together in one event, a four-day stage. Anyone can take part in it at their own expense. As for the "Golden Pass", it is available only to winners of various golden races (including GTWS and GTNS races, as well as "Golden Seg-Ments" (if the country does not have a GTNS series)) in more than 20 countries.

What is the "Golden Pass"? It is a ticket to a competition that provides the athlete with free transport, accommodation and meals throughout the competition week. The top 11 participants of the "Golden Trail World Series" receive a "Golden Pass" and are therefore automatically invited to the "Golden Trail Championship". In addition, the top 3 participants of the "Golden Trail National Series" also receive an invitation to the "Golden Trail Championship".